VIP Sponsors




Bakersfield, CA., Apr. 22 – Chuck West, of Clovis, won his second consecutive NMRA-TQ Midget Series 20-lap main event Saturday at Bakersfield Speedway in a multi-division racing program at the banked, third-mile clay speedway that opened in 1946.
The six-time NMRA driving champion (2002, 06, 08, 11-12 and 15) started eighth in a 12-car field and outraced ten finishers to the checkered flag. He drove his usual No. 38 Spike/Bob Wirth 750cc Suzuki owned by his first cousin and fellow driver West Evans.
Scott Dobson, of Newbury Park, started third and finished second in his own No. 18 Stealth/Kawasaki. La Habra resident Chris Thomas started outside row one and slipped one position to third place aboard his dad Ed's No. 40 Stealth/750cc Honda.
NMRA business manager/leader West Evans, a three-time NMRA driving champion/eight-time NMRA car owner champion, started and finished fourth. He drove his usual mount, the No. 36 Spike/Bob Wirth 750cc Suzuki. Scott Niven, from Moorpark, started and finished fifth in Steve Parke's No. 59 Stewart/Honda.
Ohio resident/TQ rookie Don Mosley, son of owner/driver Doyle Mosley, started and finished sixth aboard his dad's second car—the No. 11. Pole starter Kevin Kale and his father Ace Kale, the tenth starter, also completed 20 laps in P. 7-8. Dave Lambert, from ninth, and 12th starter/2016 NMRA rookie of the year Wes Cummings, in a third Kale Motor-sports TQ, completed 19 laps for P. 9-10. Two drivers—rookie Jason Arnold and season-opening main event winner Bruce Hiroshima—dropped out on lap 6.
A pair of 8-lap heat races each started six cars. Winners Evans and Hiroshima both started from the fifth slot and won close contests. All six drivers in each heat race completed eight laps.
West increased his 2017 driver's points lead from two to 26 points over Dobson. Hiroshima's DNF (non-finish) caused his drop from second place to a fourth place tie with Evans. They trail leader West by 36 points. Niven ranks third, 28 digits in back of the leader. Evans' No. 38 TQ holds a 26-point lead over Dobson and 27 over Parke in the car owner championship battle.
The next NMRA race, round four of 14, will be a return to its home track in Bakersfield on Saturday, May 20. Round five will follow at the same track on Saturday, June 3. Bakersfield will host eight of the 14 events this season. Santa Maria Speedway will host six NMRA races.
Heat 1 – Chuck West, Scott Niven, Scott Dobson, Kevin Kale, Dave Lambert, Jason Arnold.
Heat 2 – Bruce Hiroshima, Chris Thomas, Don Mosley, West Evans, Ace Kale, Wes Cummings.
Main – West, Dobson, Thomas, Evans, Niven, Mosley, K. Kale, A. Kale, Lambert, Cummings, Arnold, Hiroshima.
       Drivers                                   Car Owners
1 Chuck West       192         1 No. 38 West Evans       201
2 Scott Dobson     166          2 No. 18 Scott Dobson     175
3 Scott Niven         164         3 No. 59 Steve Parke       173
4 Bruce Hiroshima 156         4 No.  5 Bruce Hiroshima 168
4 West Evans       156           5 No. 36 West Evans       167
6 Kevin Kale         135         6 No. 07 Ace Kale           144
7 Ace Kale             119         7 No. 77 Ace Kale           128
8 Don Mosley ®      103       8 No. 70 Ace Kale             111
9 Wes Cummings   102       9 No. 87 Doyle Mosley       109
10 Chris Thomas       90     10 No.40 Ed Thomas              96